1340 Followers
359 Following
moonlightreader

Moonlight Reader

Lawyer, mother, avid reader. Game host extraordinaire! Partner in crime to Obsidian Black Plague! My bookish weaknesses include classics, fantasy, YA, and agreeing to read more books than is even remotely possible.

Currently reading

Capital Crimes: London Mysteries: A British Library Crime Classic (British Library Crime Classics)
Martin Edwards
Progress: 105/410 pages
Sherlock Holmes: The Definitive Collection
Arthur Conan Doyle, Stephen Fry

A Trend To End

TALKER 25 - Joshua McCune Uninvited - Sophie Jordan No One Else Can Have You - Kathleen  Hale Half Bad (Half Life Trilogy) - Sally Green The Book Thief - Trudy White, Markus Zusak

At what point did the blurb writers decide as a collective unit that all book blurbs must contain a reference to two other identifiable, and/or wildly popular, books, movies or television shows, usually bridged by a phrase along the lines of a "a cross between" or "reminiscent of" or "for fans of . . . "

Examples given:

 

 

From Amazon: Joshua McCune's gritty and heart-pounding novel is a masterful reimagining of popular dragon fantasy lore set in a militaristic future reminiscent of Paolo Bacigalupi's Ship Breaker and Ann Aguirre's Outpost.

 

 

From Amazon: From New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan, Uninvited is a chilling and suspenseful story about a girl whose DNA brands her as a killer, perfect for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and Confessions of a Murder Suspect. 

 

 

from Amazon: "The Pretty Little Liars series by Sara Shepard meets the cult-classic film Fargo in this gripping and darkly humorous murder mystery by debut author Kathleen Hale."

 

 

From Amazon: "In the tradition of Patrick Ness and Markus Zusak, Half Bad is a gripping tale of alienation and the indomitable will to survive, a story that will grab hold of you and not let go until the very last page."

 

Because it is lame.

 

Listen, book people. I do not need a cultural touchstone reference that comes from something that has been popular in the last last twenty-five minutes to convince me to buy your book.

 

Notice this:

 

 

From Amazon: It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still.

Liesel Meminger is a foster girl living outside of Munich, who scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement. 

In superbly crafted writing that burns with intensity, award-winning author Markus Zusak, author of I Am the Messenger, has given us one of the most enduring stories of our time.

 

A book that doesn't need to define itself with reference to other works created by other people. A book that can stand on its own two feet.

 

Refreshing, eh?

 

What do you all think? Is this trend helpful to you? Do you like it or not?

 

****Edited to Add****

 

Lest people think that this is a self-publishing thing, these books are all published by a traditional publisher. In order: Greenwillow, HarperTeen, HarperTeen, and Penguin.